SACRe Doctoral Program

Admission to the SACRe Doctoral Program

Doctoral Candidates from the SACRe Program have to follow the Registration process.

Their admission to the SACRe Doctoral Program comes within the competency of PSL and follows a special procedure described on the websites of the partner establishments.

For further information, please write to Quentin RIOUAL.

Details about the 2018 Call for Candidates are available on the Doctoral College website.

Fundings and scholarships

Every French Graduate School offers the possibility to apply for a Doctoral Scholarship, via a yearly Call for applications.

Each Doctoral Candidate can also apply for other research funding opportunities (here you can find an up-to-date list).

The most common way of funding a Doctorate is to be granted a Doctoral Scholarship. It can be granted by the French Ministry of Research and Higher Education. Specific scholarships also exist, such as: specific scholarships for the trainee civil servants of the Ecole Normale Supérieure and Ecole Polytechnique ; Grants for Exchange Doctoral Candidates (in France or from France) ; CIFRE agreements.

Please find hereafter several websites about the different types of funding available:

Grants by the Graduate School 540 (2019)

Any Graduate Candidate can apply for one of the 4 Doctoral Scholarships granted by the ED 540 this year.

For more information, please read the FAQ on the French Minister of Research and Higher Education’s website (in French).

Applications should be sent by e-mail until June, 10th, 2019, 24:00, to the ED540 secretariat. Please be sure that the subject of your e-mail has the following form: Application / Scholarship / Surname of the Candidate.

Each application submitted should contain the following documents, assembled in a single pdf file:

  1. The Candidate’s Research Project (max. 20.000 characters, including spaces but excluding the bibliography),
  2. The Candidate’s Resume (3 pages max.),
  3. A Reference Letter from the future Supervisor in which they officially announce that they will supervise the Candidate, while emphasising the interest of this particular project. This letter also indicates if the Candidate is expected to be granted funds (nature, duration and amount of the financing) or, on the contrary, by which means the Candidate will fund his research project.
  1. A Letter from the Director of the future Research Unit, stating that they will welcome the future Doctoral Candidate in their team during the whole period of completion of the thesis,
  2. A Copy of a document certifying that the future Doctoral Candidate passed his/her Master’s degree + A transcript of marks (1st and 2nd year),

Any student who doesn’t have copies of his/her Master’s Degree or transcript of grades at their disposal on June 10th , 2019 has to send a document from the head of his/her Masters Department, certifying that the applicant intends to complete his/her formation and to take any exams required to do so in the first session of the 2018-2019 Academic Year.

The PhD Supervisor’s primary affiliation must be one of the Research teams listed here.

No paper version or incomplete application will be considered. No acknowledgment of receipt will be delivered.

Each application will be examined by the Academic Board of ED 540 on June 18th, 2019. Selected candidates will be notified by e-mail as soon as possible. Inteviews will take place on June 24th, 2019 (Candidates who don’t reside in Europe and are not able to come to the interview may exceptionally request to be interviewed via videoconference).

Important: this year there will also be 1 Doctoral Scholarship granted by the EUR Translitterae. This offer has its own application procedure. For more information about this Doctoral Scholarship, please contact Annabelle Milleville.

Important: Application for Scholarship and Application for enrolment are two different procedures. Each Candidate has to apply for Registration; to learn more about it, please visit the Registration page.

Affiliated Research Units

UMR 8066 – Institute of Modern and Contemporary History (IHMC)
Director : Claire Zalc

UMR 8094 – Languages, texts, computer processing, cognition
Linguistique, traitement automatique des langues
Directeur : Sophie Prévost

UMR 8097 – Center Maurice Halbwachs
Sciences sociales
Directeur : Serge Paugam

UMR 8132 – Institute of Modern Texts and Scripts
Littérature, Philosophie
Directeur : Paolo D’Iorio

UMR 8129 – Jean Nicod Institute
Philosophie, sciences cognitive, linguistique
Directeur : Roberto Casati

UMR 8230 – Centre Jean Pépin
Philosophie et philologie de l’Antiquité à la Renaissance
Directeur : Pierre Caye

UMR 8248 – Lab for Perceptive Systems
Neurosciences, Psychophysique
Directeur : Pascal Mamassian

UMR 8546 – Eastern and Western Archeologies
Directeur : Christophe Goddard

UMR 8554 – Lab for cognitive and psycholinguistic sciences
Sciences cognitives, psychologie
Directrice : Anne Christophe

UMR 8547 – Pays germaniques : Archives Husserl – Transferts culturels
Philosophie, études germaniques
Directeur : Isabelle Kalinowski

USR 3608 – La République des savoirs
Philosophie, littérature, sciences
Directeur : Sophie Roux

EA 7410 – Sciences, Arts, Creation, research
Arts, esthétique
Directeurs : Emmanuel Mahé

UMR 7172 – Theory and History of Modern Arts and Literature
Littérature, arts, esthétique
Directeurs : Alain Schaffner – Mildred Galland-Szymkowiak

Scientific Board

The Scientific Board of the Graduate School 540 comprises 22 members:
  • 2 non-voting guest members
  • 12 “representatives of institutions, research units ou teams affiliated with the Graduate School – including 2 Engineering, Administrative and Technical Staff representatives” (60% of the Board)
  • 4 Doctoral Candidates representatives (20% of the Board)
  • 4 “external members, chosen for their expertise in the relevant scientific fields or socio-economical domains” (20% of the Board).

Here are the aforesaid members (2018-19):

Two non-voting guest members:

  • Frédéric Worms (Deputy Director for Humanities and Social Sciences of the ENS)
  • Drifa Fathi (secretary of the Graduate School)

Twelve “representatives of institutions, research units ou teams affiliated with the Graduate School – including 2 Engineering, Administrative and Technical Staff representatives:

  • Pierre Caye (Centre Jean Pépin)
  • Emmanuèle Cunningham-Sabot (département Géographie et territoires)
  • Charlotte Guichard (IHMC)
  • Isabelle Kalinowski (Pays Germaniques)
  • Emmanuel Mahé (SACRe)
  • Daniel Petit (AOROC)
  • Thierry Poibeau (Lattice)
  • Marc Porée (département LILA)
  • Perrine Simon-Nahum (République des savoirs)
  • Elisabeth Pacherie (Institut Jean-Nicod)
  • Stéphane Eméry (Pôle des doctorants et HDR, ENS)
  • Annabelle Milleville (Engineering, Administrative and Technical staff member)

Four Doctoral Candidates representatives :

  • Géraldine Carranante
  • Yue Hu
  • François Oliver
  • Carole Quatrelivre

Four external members, chosen for their expertise in the relevant scientific fields or socio-economical domains:

  • Estelle Oudot (PR, Université de Bourgogne)
  • Sophie Coeuré (PR, Université Paris-Diderot)
  • Monique Labrune (présidente des PUF)
  • David Brunat (société Or&H Conseil)

Here are the Proceedings of the Scientific Board meetings

Start of the Graduate School year

Wednesday, october 2nd, 2019, 6 to 8pm

Welcome party of the ED540

For the first Pizza party of the year, we’ll welcome the new PhD students. We will take you on a tour of the buildings, explain how the ED works, and answer all your questions. We will also organise the next social events.

8pm : the traditional, famous pizza party.

Feel free to join !